Academic Council

Following the integration of Association of Academic Professionals in Obstetrics and Gynaecology (APOG) and the SOGC in January 2018, the Academic Council was created to support the strategic direction and educational and research goals of the SOGC, while incorporating the mission and mandate of APOG. The Academic Council will evolve into a national voice for women’s health research with a focus on lifelong education from the undergraduate level through to retirement. This council reports to the SOGC Board of Directors.

Upcoming Events

2024 Annual and Clinical Scientific Conference (ACSC)

The SOGC is looking forward to welcoming you to an in-person program (with a virtual option) for the 2024 Annual and Clinical Scientific Conference in vibrant Edmonton, Alberta! The ACSC is the premier continuing medical education event in Canada for obstetrics and gynaecology, bringing together the largest gathering of health care professionals working in the field of women’s health. Our Education & Innovation Committee has been working hard on afternoon of Academic Sessions, which will be held on Thursday, June 13th as part of the conference. You can view the full program day-by-day here.

Medical Student Program

The next medical student program will be held in-person at ACSC from June 11-13th in Edmonton, Alberta! This program is designed to benefit medical students by exposing them to hands-on workshops and seminars that enhance their awareness and understanding of the profession of obstetrics and gynaecology. It is an excellent opportunity to learn about hot topics, ‘a day in the life’ of an obstetrician gynaecologist, to present a scientific or artistic poster, and to build networks and relationships.

To Participate in the 2024 In-Person Medical Student Program:

  • You are required to be an active student member of the SOGC. If you are not currently a member, please click here to apply.
  • You must register for the Annual Clinical and Scientific Conference; you will have the opportunity to participate in all aspects of the full conference in addition to the sessions specific to the Medical Student Program. Please click here to register for the ACSC and be sure to select ‘Medical Student Program’ as your registration option.


  • Space is limited to 40 participants; a waitlist will be generated once registration is full.
  • The SOGC is in the process of securing low-cost accommodations for medical students in partnership with the University of Alberta. More updates to come.
  • Participants are required to present a scientific or artistic poster at the ACSC’s poster session with prizes for the top poster in each category.


The Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award recognises outstanding scientific leadership, research mentoring, creative effort and major research accomplishments of a Canadian researcher (or research group). The recipient of this award is invited to present at the SOGC Annual Clinical and Scientific Conference.

2023 Winner: Dr. Haim Abenhaim

We are pleased to share that the 2023 recipient for the Excellence in Research Award is Dr. Haim Abenhaim. Dr. Abenhaim is an Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at McGill University. Dr. Abenhaim established and is the director of the Perinatal Research Center within the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology at the Jewish General Hospital in Montreal. He is a highly sought after and well accomplished researcher of topics such as, rare maternal conditions as well as preterm birth. He has been vital in filling gaps in obstetrical knowledge, and has directly overseen the research projects of over 100 McGill medical students, residents and fellows. He is also a member of the Canadian Neonatal Network Investigators, and the Canadian Preterm Birth Network Investigators – groups of researchers who collaborate on issues relating to neonatal care and preterm birth. His research has been funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) as well as the Canadian Cancer Society.

The Mentorship Award

The Mentorship Award recognizes an SOGC member who demonstrates outstanding commitment to mentoring at a national level, contributing to both the personal and professional development of others. This award is presented at the SOGC Annual Clinical and Scientific Conference.

2023 Winner: Dr. K.S. Joseph

We are pleased to share that the 2023 recipient for the Mentorship Award is Dr. K.S. Joseph. Dr. Joseph is a Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and the School of Population and Public Health, University of British Columbia as well as the Children’s and Women’s Hospital and Health Centre in Vancouver. His work is currently supported by the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute, and his research has been funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Dr. Joseph received his MBBS and MD (Community Medicine) degrees from Christian Medical College, Vellore, India, and a PhD in Epidemiology and Biostatistics from McGill University, Montreal, Canada. Dr. Joseph’s research focuses on epidemiologic issues related to maternal, fetal, and infant morbidity and mortality. He has received awards for teaching and research from local, national, and international organizations. Several doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows who have trained with Dr. Joseph serve as members of the faculty in Universities across Canada, and elsewhere.

Best of the Best

The Best of the Best session is a means to showcase the winners of each university’s resident research day. The best presentations in this program will receive the Andrée Gruslin (obstetrics) and Robert Reid (gynaecology) awards.

2023 Winner:

Andrée Gruslin: Dr. Zachary Ferraro, University of Toronto: Intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) for non-male factor infertility is associated with poor maternal-fetal outcomes.

Carl Nimrod Educator Award

The Carl Nimrod Educator Awards honors outstanding achievement within the field of education in obstetrics and gynaecology. Award recipients have varying interests but are alike in their passion for their work and dedication to making a difference whether through teaching practices, mentorship, or research.